Second opinion βœ…

I probably should’ve included this with my post last night, but I was too tired to write anymore and my “thinker” quits working at a certain time every night. That time being when Reesey Girl goes ni-night. My brain can finally take a break from all the chaos and insanity of the day… and ahh, just breathe.

And so did I mention I wasn’t too impressed with my first doctor? Well, I wasn’t. At all. Waited for 45 minutes in this tee tiny room all for him to come in, ask for my history (which I had just spewed out like word vomit on the ever-too-familiar new patient paperwork.) πŸ™„ I really wanted to ask “So, what exactly do you do before you walk into a new patient’s room, sir?” (Seriously) I felt super rushed, like he had better things on agenda.  (Side note: I went to this first appt by myself bc I was quite sure it was only a consult. Maybe going to schedule a scan or something, but that would be at a later date. So no need for Tommy to miss a day of work just for this. This little miss can hold her own. πŸ’πŸ»)

Just as I thought – I was scheduled for an MRI within the week & follow-up visit 2.5 weeks later. 2.5 weeks?! Really?! That seemed awfully long, but Tommy assured me if anything were terribly terribly wrong, that they would surely call us. Thank you, God, for my amazing husband who knows just the right words to say & when to say them and how to calm my crazy when I really just want to go all beast-mode on someone. Because we ALL know that just doesn’t need to happen. 

Fast forward to this past week: Tuesday, the 23rd— 

After some research, my sweet, beloved Nanie {who I don’t know if I can ever live without} & I found yet another neurosurgeon (at The NeuroMedical Center) who specialized in tumors of the pituitary gland. He was also listed as one of the world’s top neurosurgeons. Hey, I FINALLY found my guy! If I’m having brain surgery, this dude is my number one. I was also told this by a few other friends who knew of him. All things checked out – I’m going to see this guy & see what he has to say. 

Turns out Dr. #1 has already discussed my case with Dr. # 2 so he’s pretty familiar with it. As he walks into the room, he asks who my endocrinologist is right off the bat. When I say I don’t have one, but ask for a recommendation – his response: uh, an endocrinologist. At this point, stick a fork in me, I’m done.  I have no time for rudeness. This is my health we’re talking about. I have a baby who needs me to give her 110% of all that I have. I have a husband, who {I feel} thinks I’m broken. What if he thinks he has a broken wife? Because I’m too tired to care for our daughter all the time. My migraines are so deep, on occasion, that I have to cover my face/head with a blanket while our Reesey Girl plays right next to me on the couch – within arms reach so I can still touch/hear her even though I can’t see her. I have too much life left to live. 

So, since these guys are so knowledgeable & ya know, well, brain surgeons… Do they automatically get the “I’m better than you” card? Nope, not from me. Not in this lifetime & certainly not in the next. 

Geez Louise! It’s almost 1 AM. Since when have I started staying up so late. Bedtime for this mamacita. I guess I’ll be drinking 7 cups of coffee before service in the morning to put me into drive. 

xo, 

Maegan 

Author:

Mama to my brood of one tiny human baby & 3 furbabies| Wifey to my Tommy| Lover of Jesus| Blogger| Coffee Addict| Stationary Hoarder| Crafter| Reader| Avid napper

Leave a Reply

